Fighting For Your Rights Since 1999

Driving While License Suspended

Retain Experienced Traffic Ticket Lawyers in Michigan

A first offense of driving while license is suspended (DLWS) is a misdemeanor and can result in up to 93 days imprisonment and/or a fine of up to $500. A person must have known that their license is suspended before they can be guilty of operating a vehicle while their license is suspended.

The most common defense for driving while license is suspended is that the secretary of state did not provide the defendant notice that their license was suspended. Notice must be by person or first class mail addressed to the person whose license is suspended.

It is very important to remember that if any offense like DLWS appears on your driving record as a conviction during a period of suspension, the Secretary of State will automatically add an additional suspension of the same period of time. It’s called a 904 suspension. For example, if you were suspended for six months for an unsatisfactory driving record and get a ticket during that suspension time, the Secretary of State will automatically add another six months of suspension. When negotiating a plea bargain, it is important for the attorney to know what offenses are abstracted to a driving record by the court and which ones are not.

It is always best to plea to a non-abstractable offense to avoid the additional 904 suspension.

Call The Law Offices of Barton Morris today at (248) 368-0038 to find out how our Michigan traffic ticket attorneys can help you. Call now and schedule a free consultation.

The Right Firm Asks The Right Questions

What Sets The Law Offices of Barton Morris Apart?
  • Over Two Decades of Legal Experience Within A Variety of Practice Areas

  • We'll Tackle Even The Most Challenging Cases & Refuse To Back Down

  • We Have a Successful Track-Record Obtaining Favorable Outcomes For Our Clients

  • Our Seasoned Trial Lawyers Aren't Afraid To Go To Court & Fight For Your Rights